Skip to main content Help with accessibility Skip to main navigation

New service developments

Application and Case for Introduction of New Medicine Service Developments

For applications for minor formulary changes, please use the ‘Request for Amendments to Existing Formulary Choice or a Medicine Switch’ form.

Request for Amendments to Existing Formulary Choice or a Medicine Switch

The aim of Pan Mersey Area Prescribing Committee is to make recommendations on the use of medicines across Merseyside. In order to meet this responsibility the Board has incorporated four subgroups, one of which is the new medicines subgroup. The purpose of this subgroup is to undertake horizon scanning in order to prioritise and plan for the introduction of new medicines, changes in patent and licence of existing medicines, and implementation of national guidance which has the potential for significant clinical or financial impact on health economy.

The new medicines subgroup considers all applications for the introduction of new medicines and by using systematic processes, will review all drugs fully before deciding whether the drug should be introduced onto our formulary. The application for a new medicine involves an approved request being received from a clinician, going through the hospitals Drug and Therapeutic Committees and if applicable, a full review being conducted by our Pharmacists to ascertain whether the requested the medicine is viable in terms of cost, effectiveness and most of all, patient safety, using evidence from NICE, EMEA and other reliable medical sources.

Form submission

NHS Halton CCG 
Becky Birchall becky.birchall@nhs.net

NHS Knowsley CCG
Carrie Barton carolyn.barton3@knowsleyccg.nhs.uk

NHS Liverpool CCG
Jackie Szynalski jackie.szynalski@merseycare.nhs.uk

NHS Southport and Formby CCG
Kay Walsh kay.walsh@nhs.net

NHS South Sefton CCG 
Kay Walsh kay.walsh@nhs.net

NHS St Helens CCG
Laura Dewsbury laura.dewsbury@sthelensccg.nhs.uk

NHS Warrington CCG
Jenny Lunn jennylunn@nhs.net

NHS West Lancashire CCG
Nicola Baxter nicola.baxter@lancashirecsu.nhs.uk

NHS Wirral CCG
Emma Jaeger emma.jaeger@nhs.net

Alder Hey Hospital Children's NHS Trust
Jenny Bellis jenny.bellis@alderhey.nhs.uk

Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Danny Forrest danny.forrest@lhch.nhs.uk

Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Aintree)
Dave Thornton dave.thornton@aintree.nhs.uk

Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Royal and Broadgreen)
Paul Skipper paul.skipper@rlbuht.nhs.uk

Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust
Daniel Collins daniel.collins@lwh.nhs.uk

Mersey Care NHS Trust
Agatha Munyika agatha.munyika@merseycare.nhs.uk

North West Boroughs Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Kerry Lawton kerry.lawton@nwbh.nhs.uk

Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust
Hannah Al-Jaffar  hannah.al-jaffar@nhs.net

St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Mike Welsby mike.welsby@sthk.nhs.uk

The Walton Centre
Eleri Phillips eleri.phillips@thewaltoncentre.nhs.uk

Warrington and Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Nicola Hayes nicola.hayes@.nhs.net

Wirral University Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Alison Evans alison.evans39@nhs.net